Instructional Assistant of the Year

WCPS Names 2017-2018 Instructional Assistant of the Year
This is the image for the news article titled WCPS Names 2017-2018 Instructional Assistant of the YearEastern Wayne Middle media assistant, Sarah Robinson, has been selected as the Wayne County Public Schools (WCPS) 2017-2018 Instructional Assistant of the Year. The announcement was made Tuesday afternoon at the first annual Instructional Assistant of the Year Reception held at the WCPS Administrative Offices.

Mrs. Robinson has 17 years of service with the school district and has worked at Eastern Wayne Middle for the past four years. This past year, she took on part-time media assistant duties at Eastern Wayne Elementary. As part of her education philosophy, she believes in the importance of teaching the whole child.

“Not every child is the same, so I believe you need to meet them where they are,” states Mrs. Robinson. “The whole child involves teaching them physically, emotionally, and mentally. All students can learn if you find what strategies work for them.”

In her various roles with the school district, she has led student clubs, served as an Assistant Coach for Battle of the Books teams, coached varsity women’s swimming, and has spent several years of her education career -first at Greenwood Middle and now at Eastern Wayne Middle- serving students in need of additional support in the area of mathematics.

“Mrs. Robinson promotes learning in every aspect of the school,” states Catherine Fulcher, EWM principal. “She is a go-getter and always looks at situations differently, which is a huge plus because she gives great insight on innovative ideas that the school can benefit from. The students and staff love her and her enthusiasm about our school is contagious among others.”

“We are pleased to recognize Mrs. Robinson for her valuable role as a media assistant,” states Dr. Yvette Smith Mason, WCPS Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources. “Through this local recognition program, our selection committees spent hours reading portfolios and interviewing the top instructional assistants in the district. Mrs. Robinson was found to be dedicated, passionate, and highly effective in supporting the students and teachers at her school.”

As Instructional Assistant of the Year, Mrs. Robinson will receive a $500 check. The district’s two finalists, Susie Chase (Charles B. Ayock High) and Barbara Lofton (Spring Creek High) will each receive a $250 check.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.