Instructional Assistants of the Year

WCPS Announces Instructional Assistants of the Year Finalists
This is the image for the news article titled WCPS Announces Instructional Assistants of the Year Finalists

The Wayne County Public Schools (WCPS) HR Department is excited to announce its three finalists in its first annual Instructional Assistant of the Year (IAOY) program.


Sarah Robinson
Eastern Wayne Middle

Susie Chase
Charles B. Aycock High School

Barbara Lofton
Spring Creek High

The district-level IAOY program is a formalized selection process, modeled after the Teacher of the Year program, to highlight the top instructional assistants in the district. Schools recently named the instructional assistant who would represent their school as IAOY in the coming year. 
This past week, candidates submitted a professional portfolio and were interviewed by a selection committee. The committee then narrowed the field to three finalists. The WCPS IAOY will be selected from the three finalists and announced at a reception to be held at the district’s Administrative Offices on May 2 at 3:30 PM.

“Instructional Assistants have a valuable role in supporting students and classroom teachers,” states Dr. Yvette Smith Mason, WCPS Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources. “We are excited to launch a formal district-level program to honor employees who are absolutely vital to the success of the education program in their schools. We wish our three Instructional Assistant of the Year finalists the very best in the next round of the program.”


Sarah Robinson is a Media Assistant at Eastern Wayne Elementary and Eastern Wayne Middle. She has 17 years of service with the school district and has worked at Eastern Wayne Middle for the past four years.

“Sarah Robinson is one of the hardest working individuals I know,” states Catherine Fulcher, EWM principal. “In addition to her shared media assistant duties, she is one of our Curriculum Enhancement teachers, where she instructs, remediates, and enhances the learning of her students each day in the area of mathematics. Each school needs a Sarah Robinson.”

Susie Chase is an Instructional Assistant at Charles B. Aycock High. She has 14½ years of service with the school district and at her present school.

“You will find Susie Chase absolutely loves education and is especially dedicated to serving special needs students,” states Dr. Earl Moore, CBA principal. “She uses innovative and creative methods to make learning applicable to students’ everyday life. Her students revere and respect her. Mrs. Chase is the type of instructional assistant that every principal would want to have in his/her school.”

Barbara Lofton is an Instructional Assistant at Spring Creek High. She has 12 years of service with the school district, and has worked at her present school since 2010.

“Ms. Lofton is very dependable, and does an admirable job with the special needs students enrolled in our Occupational Course of Study program,” states Steven Clingan, SCH principal. “She has a great demeanor towards our students, and directly impacts the quality of their education in her role.”  

The following is a complete list of the instructional assistants selected to represent their school as an Instructional Assistant of the Year in the coming school year:



Instructional Assistant of the Year

Brogden Middle School

Makita Brown-Jones

Brogden Primary School

Michelle Vinson

Carver Elementary School

Charlette Purnell

Carver Heights Elementary School

Cherry Townsend

Charles B. Aycock High School

Susie Chase

Dillard Middle School

Geraldine Miller

Eastern Wayne Elementary School

Debbie Denton

Eastern Wayne High School

Scott Summers

Eastern Wayne Middle School

Sarah Robinson

Edgewood Community Developmental School

Elizabeth Dunn

Fremont STARS Elementary School

Shirley Staton

Grantham Elementary School

Holly Denning

Grantham Middle School

Sonya Thomas Wingate

Greenwood Middle School

Diwanda Hutchins

Meadow Lane Elementary School

David Williams

Mount Olive Middle School

Tammy Farrior

North Drive Elementary School

Terry Smith

Northeast Elementary School

Barbara Smith

Northwest Elementary School

Cecilia Prezbindowski

Norwayne Middle School

Olisha White

Rosewood Elementary School

Dana Gurley

Rosewood High School

Carmellas Yelverton

Rosewood Middle School

Angie Bridgers

School Street Early Learning Center

Hannah Edwards

Southern Wayne High School

Matilda Gardner

Spring Creek Elementary School

Terrie Taylor

Spring Creek High School

Barbara Lofton

Tommy’s Road Elementary School

Ashley Presson

Wayne Middle/High Academy

Louise Cox


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.